Hope


Do you know what is ‘hope’?
It’s a chisel that sculpts your dream.
It’s a lantern for your mind in the dark.
It’s a solace in the Herculean swim upstream.
It’s an immortal drink at the desert’s embark.

Do you know why I do hope?
I feel fearless even on a sticky wicket.
I see happiness even in a desperate thrashing.
I feel confident even with one of my feet in a trouncing.
And i deem serene even amongst the most vivid thoughts.

Do you still wonder why do we hope?
Do you still speculate why it’s so special in scope?
The answer is simple, but ample to ponder:
Hope is the reason why tomorrow exists in thrust,
And it’s the only thing in the world we can trust.

(20th Aug 2009)

36 thoughts on “Hope

    • Thanx 🙂
      Poems don’t flow out as prolifically from my pen as the other forms of writings i’m into, but every poem i write has an umbilical-cord relation with what’s goin on in my life…
      ‘Hope’ was written when i in was such a kind of desperation, when someone inside me had to come out and motivate me.
      Hope it does the same to those in need…

      Cheers 🙂

  1. You’re right. Without hope the world would be dark and dreary, for we could not hope for the sun, nor could we hope for love. Thanks for giving us “Hope”.

  2. Chinmay!

    this is a stunning poem ….

    Hope is the reason why tomorrow exists in thrust,
    And it’s the only thing in the world we can trust.

    I love that line! and I so agree..

    thanks so much for bringing my attention to it!

    made my whole day!

    – here’s to hope!

  3. Superb poem buddy…
    “Do you know what is ‘hope’?
    It’s a chisel that sculpts your dreams.
    It’s a lantern for your mind in the dark.
    It’s a solace in the Herculean swim upstreams.
    It’s an immortal drink at the desert’s embark.”

    Love it..great work… 🙂

    • thanx, bro 🙂
      Beautiful how poems touch our hearts isn’t it?
      You read them more and more, and they continue to stun you with their unique way of conveying something…
      It’s such an enchanting way to express our feelings!

  4. i like this! Fave line:

    “It’s a chisel that sculpts your dreams.”

    “Hope is the reason why tomorrow exists in thrust,
    And it’s the only thing in the world we can trust.”

  5. Hope is the reason why tomorrow exists in thrust,
    And it’s the only thing in the world we can trust

    …champion lines indeed…definitely a fan of optimism and its cousin hope…nicely done.

    • Thanx 🙂
      When I’m ending a poem, i really spend almost half of the total time deciding what the final lines should be. And this is one such fruitful occasion wherein I was really happy with myself 🙂

  6. Your poem leaves me feeling a bit sad. No fault of yours – you evoke the feeling well. But looking at where the world is headed just now, what hope i can muster beyond the little things is for future generations. The hopes i had for the coming days is long crushed by watching people. So much to learn again, such very painful lessons forgotten.

    I fear thinking of hope doesn’t bring the joy it once did, but your poem expressed it well – well enough to tap a rush of other feelings in response.

    my rally:
    http://thirdroad.wordpress.com/2010/11/05/past-poetic-part-ii/

Comment on the post

