The Same Old Question


I often ask myself one same question time and again: Has Science made me an atheist?

Never have I thought the answer to be YES on to that one, but interestingly, nor have I been able to unconditionally deny it!

Having born in an Orthodox Brahmin family, naturally I used to be a strong believer of God, (I still am in some vague sense) but having brought up in the world of Science, I always have ventured to solve several why’s and what’s floating around my head. And when it came to this question, everything is like: May be or may be not.

As Far as Science goes, you cannot say that something exists unless you have seen it yourself or have you verified its existence from scientifically acceptable finds. At the same time, to say that something does not exist, you will have to back yourself with proofs that would convince everyone. (Or at least the men of Science.)

Best example is the existence of ET living beings or aliens. Are we alone? Is earth the only planet in the entire cosmos that has life?

The answer is again May be or may be not. The question isn’t answered yet and hence there is SETI project! Likewise is this question that’s been bothering me ever since Science took over my mind. It hasn’t been answered yet in a way that would be acceptable by Science. Or probably, Science isn’t mature enough yet to understand what it is. It isn’t just a coincidence that almost all the civilizations in the world have believed in the existence of God, and hence the religion almost independently. Isn’t it something remarkable?

You can call me accommodative, but I would keep my thoughts flexible and open. Since I want to prove or disprove something, as in Science, I would set my Null Hypothesis as ‘God exists.’ Because the very idea that God does not exist frightens me. If that’s the case, it would mean chaos: a world without any rules or boundaries to what a man can do. It would mean that you don’t need to be a good man. All you need is to be powerful. It doesn’t matter how you use your powers as long as you have it. It would mean that the morals, ethics and the good qualities of a human being are of no value at all!

So I would choose order rather than chaos to be my starting point as I always have tried to be a good human being. I can then go about my solution to prove or disprove my assumption that there is order in the cosmos, wherever the time leads me to.

I believe I would have my solution at some point in my life and until then, I would honour my assumption. (As an assumption is something you think the solution is.)

Hope you honour yours!

Believe!

(Inspiration: Confusion Prevails by Vinay Chaganti)

In the same line: Deeper into the Same Old Question
4 thoughts on “The Same Old Question

  1. According to me, the God exist. Just in our hearts. U can say you have to prove it. Bt god is behind the science. When ever i see the athiest like people I just remember one quote-“If a small boat with litttle no.of cannot travel wthout the boatman, then wat abt this big earth which is holding billions of people”.
    He has helped me a lot and i have felt it. He’ll be just a powerful soul, where no one can beat him in any ways.

  2. Hello Chinmay

    Thanks for mentioning my post as the inspiration behind yours. I am happy for that. I think I have a comment to offer for these lines:

    “It hasn’t been answered yet in a way that would be acceptable by Science. Or probably, Science isn’t mature enough yet to understand what it is. It isn’t just a coincidence that almost all the civilizations in the world have believed in the existence of God, and hence the religion almost independently. Isn’t it something remarkable?”

    We know science is a method that we agreed to build our know-what and know-how. So, it is ironical that we some times question its ability to serve our purpose. Science is a consensual method where being accommodating depends on hypothesis being pursued and the method followed. But being accommodating in the approach overall may push science into confusion with religion. Look at for example, Hinduism, where its only strength and its harshest criticism comes from the fact that it is too accommodating.

    About how the belief in God came about, I too agree that something remarkable must have forced our yester generations into this belief. But there is already a lot of work, in cognitive sciences, that says our curiosity to attribute logic to what we see and a limited knowledge of how things worked have together foxed people into believing a mystical phenomenon; which eventually became God. This might be just one argument, but at least not ignorable.

    Another point I would like to offer, from my personal experience is, it is good to start with a notion that god may not exist. Frankly, that hypothesis has forced me to learn more and be confused more with my observations of how science came in conflict with belief. 🙂

  3. I pondered a lot about what you wrote and it kept me thinking. I feel like a kid who is yet to know and learn so many things. I salute your depth of understanding of a concept. All I can finally say after taking so long is, I have a very long way to go.
    Thank you 🙂

Comment on the post

