Working in Empty Spaces


Because it’s almost a month now that I wrote something, I took some time to sit back and think.

I remember reading Umberto Eco‘s interview to The Hindu (link here) in our textbooks back in my 11th standard. It was one of my favorite chapters, primarily because I myself was tremendously passionate of being an author, alongside my secret fascination for being interviewed. He explains in a very thought-provoking manner when asked about how he is able to do so many things at a time: “we have a lot of empty spaces in our lives. I call them interstices. Say you are coming over to my place. You are in an elevator and while you are coming up, I am waiting for you. This is an interstice, an empty space. I work in empty spaces. While waiting for your elevator to come up from the first to the third floor, I have already written an article!”

I am a professor who writes novels on Sundays” was my favorite line from Eco. When I read it then, the idea was very charming to me, evidently because I had a lot of time to do things and had never tried it myself. And now, being in a corporate world with occasional sets of such “empty spaces” existent in my day, I realize that it’s easier said than done. Probably, that has to be the reason why everyone cannot do what Eco does.

Working in empty spaces doesn’t apply only to writing; we can generalize it to many things we do in our everyday life. Everybody has only 24 hours to spend in a day, and people like Eco make the most of it. You don’t get time. You have to take it. That’s the answer to one of our questions about people: How do they do so many things in life?

By working in empty spaces I don’t mean being restless. Time taken to relax and refresh is important as well! But when you are so much in love with what you do, empty spaces generally fill in themselves. That’s when the statements like “I’m bored” never come in. So next time when you are bored, think about it: What do you love to do?

And don’t forget to start doing it! 🙂

Believe!

10 thoughts on “Working in Empty Spaces

  1. Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips and hints for novice blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

Comment on the post

